A Glimpse

I haven’t been blogging, but I’ve been running.

My work schedule is busy and will only get busier for the next 5-6 weeks. You know, right along when my mileage continues to increase and the actual half-marathon happens.

Our long runs are up to 8 miles.  8. Wow.

It’s still hard, but last week I had a few moments of running that I actually enjoyed.

a glimpse

Those few moments took me completely by surprised.  In those few minutes, running was, I’m afraid to say it in case I jinx myself, but they were, e a s y. The moment came and went and then came and went again. My body and breath were in sync, I looked around at the budding trees and noticed the early blooming forthyias and magnolias. I might have even smiled.

It was a glimpse of what I imagine my running life could be – smooth, almost efffortless, not always, but most of the time.

The rest of the run was hard, as usual.

Night Run

Night run in Prospect Park

Last Wednesday, Michelle and I met for an afterwork weekday run.  It was such a treat. We usually do the weekday runs solo and report in via text. There were several running groups in the park doing interval training. We were inspired by their sprinting runs and we decided rather than do 4 miles, we would try interval runs.  This is not our first fooray into speedwork. Usually, once a week we push it, higher speed for long periods, but mostly on the treadmill.

We decided that we would run faster – not our fastest, but faster for 1 minute and then recover for 1 minute for about 30 minutes.  We were extremely pleased.  Our faster runs felt good.  It proved to us once again that we can pick up the pace, which we promised to do in our next weekday runs!

Those two things happening in one week, made me feel like something is happening, that my body is learning that quite possibly I could do this for the rest of my life.

8 miles here I come!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Glimpse

  1. You are an inspiration, Esther! From: Running Brooklyn To: piperhoffman@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, April 20, 2015 11:08 AM Subject: [New post] A Glimpse #yiv0210846564 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0210846564 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0210846564 a.yiv0210846564primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0210846564 a.yiv0210846564primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0210846564 a.yiv0210846564primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0210846564 a.yiv0210846564primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0210846564 WordPress.com | estheralix posted: “I haven’t been blogging, but I’ve been running.My work schedule is busy and will only get busier for the next 5-6 weeks. You know, right along when my mileage continues to increase and the actual half-marathon happens.Our long runs are up to 8 mil” | |

Leave a comment